Convent of Christ

Classified by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, the Convent of Christ is one of the most relevant monuments in the context of Portuguese and international heritage. In 1319, after the extinction of the Order of the Temple, decreed by papal bull, King Dinis transformed it into the Order of Christ, also integrating its knights and a large part of its assets. The Templar Castle turned in to the Convent of Christ, which underwent improvement works, and Tomar became the headquarters of the Order of Christ, gaining an essential role in the Portuguese Discoveries. One of the most emblematic details is precisely the famous Window of the Chapter, which refers to the period of maritime expansion and includes decorative elements from the Manueline architectural period.

Get to know this unique place in terms of the symbolism of the Templar theme, slowly, paying special attention to the Charola and the Window of the Chapter.

See virtual tour here.


Estr. do Convento, 8

2300-000 Tomar

39.60366382550524, -8.419041128536566

249 315 089


October to May
9 am — 5:30 pm (last admission at 5 pm)

June to September
9 am — 6:30 pm (last admission at 6 pm)

Closed: January 1st, March 1st, Easter Sunday, May 1st, December 24th, and 25th
Paid admission.